Affordable Housing Board

About Us

The Affordable Housing Team works in partnership with housing administrator to enable the development of affordable housing in the Borough. In Roseland, we try to provide more affordable housing in two ways – through our Planning Policy and through the provision of Government grants.


The Affordable Housing Board is hereby granted and shall have and exercise the following powers:

a. Review, with the assistance of the Municipal Housing Liaison, regulations pertaining to the sale and rental of affordable housing units.
b. With the assistance of the Municipal Housing Liaison, prepare amendments and additions to regulations as it deems necessary or appropriate to implement the purpose of this section. Such amendments and additions shall not become effective until approved by the Borough Council.
c. Hold hearings, upon notice, and adjudicate complaints of developers, applicants, owners and renters if the developer, applicant, owner or renter is not satisfied with the rulings of the Administrative Agent. In matters involving a hearing, the Municipal Housing Board shall provide 10 days' written notice to all parties involved and shall give all interested parties an opportunity to be heard.
d. With the assistance of the Municipal Housing Liaison, review requests from federal, state, county or local agencies regarding funding or applications for funding.
e. With the assistance of the Municipal Housing Liaison, make recommendations to the Borough Council regarding how Borough funds, or funds collected from developer contributions for affordable housing, should be spent and propose priorities for such expenditures.
f. Review all affirmative marketing plans submitted by the Municipal Liaison or Administrative Agent.


The Roseland Affordable Housing Board shall consist of nine (9) citizens of the Borough, seven (7) to serve as regular members and two (2) to serve as alternate members, to be appointed by the Mayor with confirmation by the Council, to serve without compensation. The terms of the members shall be three (3) years. The Mayor shall designate alternate members as "Alternate #1" and "Alternate #2". Alternate members may participate in discussions of the proceedings but may not vote except in the absence or disqualification of a regular member. If a choice must be made as to which alternate member is to vote, Alternate #1 shall vote. A vote shall not be delayed in order that a regular member may vote instead of an alternate member.

Staff Contacts

Name Phone
Piazza & Associates 609-786-1100

Board Members

Name Title
Eileen Fishman Council Liason
Eric Fauerbach Board Member
Gloria Chamberlin Board Member
Claudia Reis Chair
Michael Heller Board Member
Megan Patrick Board Member
Jean Capasso Alternate 1
Randy Shapiro Alternate 2
John Matheis Board Member